Unofficial Sentai Akibaranger – Pain is Power


Story: A+
Unoffical Sentai Akibaranger is about a 3 person team of rangers Red, Yellow, and Blue the only problem is they are actually a Unoffical Super Sentai team, so their not really the 34th Super Sentai team.

The show is actually a parody of the franchise as it crosses series with humor.

The series is about Aoyagi Mitsuki, Moegi Yumeria, and Akagi Nobou. Akagi being a 29-year-old fan of Super Sentai, Yumeria a cosplayer, and Mitsuki a cloest anime fan. They are recruited by Hakase Hiroyo the owner of a Super Sentai cafe that Akagi calls their base of operations.

They first find trouble when a maid cafe is taken over by their enemy Malseena and they first have to face off against Shibuya Seitakaawadachisƍhigenagaaburamushi who are part of the Evil Group Stema Otsu Corporation.

Characters: A+

I love the characters mostly Akagi because he’s a Super Sentai otaku just like Gai from Kaizuko Sentai Gokaiger, and must like myself. He works at a Saski Ponpoko Delivery who at the start is acting likes a part of the 28th Super Sentai series Tokusou Sentai Dekaranger.

Yumeria she’s sorta of an air head at times but shes into Super Sentai as she makes a refernce saying that she wants to be great like Chisato, Mega Yellow from Denji Sentai Megaranger. I just wish she would drop the cat character as she was sorta annoying towards the end saying things like Nya as most cosplayers doing cats do.

Mitsuki is quiet and doesn’t know what to do a lot of times as seen in the battle scene with the battle pose and often jumps during explosions. Her character just doesn’t fit the outgoing personality of the other two.

Sound: A+
The OP of the show is a great up beat pop song, to be honest this OP would be more fitting of an anime show then a live action show. But it follows more of the sound of a Kamen Rider series song then a Super Sentai one but it does make me think it could have been used for Kaizoku Sentai Gokaiger.

The ED theme song is a soft rock pop crossover I actually like it, it doesn’t really fit anything I’ve heard in a Super Sentai show yet it fits somehow my only problem is its way to short.

Direction: A+

I just love parodies of shows I’m already a fan of, this show actually set the bar higher than I expected. It plays out like a real Super Sentai series but Akagi being a Super Sentai fan he knows whats going to happen before it happens as he says “It’s a Super Sentai law”. I guess he forgot that in the first episode of Super Sentai the defeated monster NEVER gets a beam to turn them into a giant for them to defeat in a robot.

I wonder how long they actually waited for the giant monster?

Overall: A+

Words can’t begain how much I love this show I feel bad that I waited so long for me to start it, I expected it to be like the show but feature like behind the scene type of fake documentary setting like show. Sorta like them in character then after they stop filming they turn into another role and they are like the people they play. I’m sure a show like that would be great but this show is a better idea.

I like how they use Super Sentai terms such as Akagi saying their the 34th Super Sentai team *Sentai nerd alert, The real 34th series of Super Sentai was actually Tensou Sentai Goseiger. This show would be the 37th as it would have aired after the first few episodes of Tokumei Sentai Go-Busters the actual 34th Super Sentai series*

I’m now going to watch this show with a huge smile on my face but I know if anyone asks me what I’m watching I know I’m going to say BakuryĆ« Sentai Abaranger instead of Hikounin Sentai Akibaranger. I might get the two crossed up and say something like Hikounin Sentai Abaranger and look dumb. Im just surprised they got a retired AV star in the cast, Its not new but I am a fan of her films glad that Honoka is back doing something on a normal basis and not just here and there. This is just another reason to watch this show more!

Posted on June 1, 2012, in Action, Parody, Tokusatsu and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

